Parish History

Our Lady of the Assumption Parish

Our Lady of the Assumption (OLA) Parish was established in Carmichael, California in 1950 to serve a growing post-war population in suburban Sacramento.

Under the leadership of the founding pastor, Father Thomas Bannon, a place for Sunday worship was built two years later. The physical plant continued to expand with the construction of an elementary school in the mid-1950’s, a convent and chapel for the teaching nuns, planning and construction of the current church in the mid-1960’s, and construction of several additional buildings to support the numerous parish ministries.

Today the parish community consists of more than 1600 families, many of whom participate in various liturgical, spiritual, service and social ministries. The OLA family reaches out to all its members through a dedicated St.Vincent de Paul Society, a vibrant Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults, Catholic Faith Formation for public school students, an active Ladies Council, and support groups for youth and retired parishioners.

The parish school was opened in 1955 and staffed by nuns from the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The school currently serves approximately 300 children with a preschool program that includes transitional kindergarten and kindergarten through grade eight. In addition to its standards-based curriculum, Our Lady of the Assumption School offers programs in art, music, science and computer skills along with a comprehensive athletic program. An extended care program is offered on school days.

The mission of the parish community at Our Lady of the Assumption Church is to:

  • proclaim the Word of God more faithfully;
  • serve the people of God especially in our efforts to meet the needs of the poor in our local community and, when able, around the world; and
  • build a sense of parish community among our parishioners and, when possible, the wider diocesan community.